baby Sam–he’s here!

Oh my gosh. Oh my gosh. Oh my gosh.

I still don’t understand how July 29, 2012, happened. Like, woah. But before we get into that, I just want to recognize a commenter: Bless you. I see your precious, raw heart. I know that heart. We may not have shared the same pain, walked the same path, but we share something. And I desperately want to talk about it…and the only way I know how to do that is to do it here, on this blog. Which is weird, sorry. Thank you for your faithfulness to reach out, the Lord sees you. And hopefully I can get my thoughts together in the coming few weeks and respond in some way that is worthy to your comment. Well, I will respond–the hopeful part is just whether it will or will not make sense. Anyway, you are heard, and you are prayed for. Desperately.

And for anyone else out there who is looking for some true honesty, to pray in battle with someone you do not know, or to share your own heart as it concerns the sometimes difficult path we walk in trying to work out our faith, click on the About section and read “Confused’s” comment. And take a moment to lift her, her husband and their future family up in real prayer. Thank you.

So, our little man–Samuel John–was born at 9:58pm July 29, 2012 weighing 8lbs 4oz and measuring 20 1/2 inches long. Also, he was born at home. On our bed. With a midwife. After 22 hours of labor. Yikes.

Yes, we were intentionally keeping our planned homebirth under wraps. But to be fair, it wasn’t our plan till late in the game and even after that, there were lots of logistics with our midwife being out of the country during my 37th, 38th and 39th week. I just happened to go into labor 36 hours after her plane touched down. And before you think we’re crazy, just try to think we’re awesome ;) and know we have a sense of humor about it. And know that we’re not trying to push any crazy hippie ideas on anyone. We just felt the Lord calling us to this way, and He was faithful. Boy was He ever. Cause y’all…22 hours. 22 hours. 22 hours.

And hey, who knew how amazing my husband was? I thought I did. But now I really do. Whew. Bless his heart. And bless the heart of everyone involved with us that day, whether your were there physically (which, seriously, you 5 are irreplaceable…you obviously know exactly who you are) or with us in spirit. It was definitely a day full of miracles. Though you wouldn’t have known it to look at me, ha! Until 10pm, that is. Then you would have thought that I had just had a baby or something. What pure, incredible joy.

And here he his…we think he’s pretty cute.

And just because I’m completely unfiltered, I am trying to write his birth story at the moment. Hopefully it will be filtered enough for those who brave to read it ;) ps–have y’all seen Jim Gaffigan’s latest comedy special? The whole beginning is on homebirth and it is PERFECT. We watched it about three days before I went into labor…I actually thought it was going to put me in labor. You must netflix it. You must. Until then, here’s a really, really bad quality youtube video of just the homebirth part.

“we had all our babies at home…just to make you uncomfortable.”

AHHHHHHHHHHHH, that’s my favorite part. Until next time…

4 thoughts on “baby Sam–he’s here!

  1. First of all, CONGRATS!! Second, he is amazing!! Such a perfect little joy. Third, please share your midwife’s contact. If/when I have a baby one day I’d love to do a water home birth. You are the first person I’ve known that has had a home birth in Mississippi. I think it is great and I’m so glad you are doing well afterwards. Can’t wait to read all the details of the birth story.

  2. As soon as I started reading, I knew my comment was gonna be “we had all our babies at home… Just to make you uncomfortable.” So glad you went ahead and included that! Love you! You guys are amazing, and Sam is… Just perfect!

  3. I am so, so happy for you guys! I am also proud of you for your birth choice. It takes so much courage, faith, and support to go that route. None of which you seem to be lacking :). I can’t wait to read all about it! Hope to share birth stories with you soon. Maybe Sam’s birth story will convince my hubby to birth at home with our next. Enjoy your little guy.

Leave a Reply

